Publish Date: 02.12.2014

Category: News from the University

At today’s formal session of the Senate of the University of Ljubljana, the rector of the university, prof. dr. Ivan Svetlik, presented the highest awards; honourable doctor, the plaque “Pro universitate labacensi”, the Golden plaques and the solemn certificate for young university teachers and associates.   

The second day of the traditional University Week ended today in the Assembly Hall of the University of Ljubljana. The participants were addressed by the rector of the University of Ljubljana, prof. dr. Ivan Svetlik, and the central part of the event was the awarding of the highest recognitions of the University of Ljubljana. The former Nobel Prize winner Sir Richard J. Roberts was declared an honorary doctor due to his important contributions in the field of biochemistry and molecular biology. The certificate of honorary doctor of the University of Ljubljana was also solemnly awarded to professor Herbert W. Roesky, who was named last year at the proposal of the Faculty of Chemistry and Chemical Technology for exceptional scientific work and research in the field of inorganic chemistry. 

The “Pro Universitate labacensi” plaque the University of Ljubljana awards to individuals and organizations who, through their means or work, have made an important contribution to the development of the material abilities of the university or towards training its employees. This year it was awarded to the Slovenian Academia Philharmonicorum, Telekom Slovenije and prof. Maruša Zorec from the Faculty of Architecture. 

This year’s recipients of the Golden Plaque, which is awarded to individuals for exceptional merits in developing scientific, teaching or artistic creations and for strengthening the university’s reputation, are prof. dr. Ivan Štuhec from the Biotechnical Faculty, prof. dr. Dušan Mramor from the Faculty of Economics, prof. dr. Marjan Svetličič from the Faculty of Social Sciences, prof. dr. Damjan Miklavčič from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, prof. dr. Aleš Mrhar from the Faculty of Pharmacy, prof. dr. Roman Drnovšek from the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, prof. dr. Stojan Petelin from the Faculty of Maritime Studies and Transport, prof. dr. Marko Bajec from the Faculty of Computer and Information Science and assistant prof. Mile Kosi from the Academy of Music, who unfortunately passed away a few days before the award ceremony. The ceremonial documents for young university teachers and associates at the University of Ljubljana are awarded for exceptional educational and research achievements. This year’s recipients are: Doc. prof. Miha Rogina from the Academy of Music, doc. dr. Vito Logar from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, doc. dr. Petra Kocbek from the Faculty of Pharmacy and doc. dr. Miha Ravnik from the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics. 

The solemn assembly was also addressed by the chairman of the scientific council of the Jožef Stefan Institute and professor at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics prof. dr. Dragan Mihailović. In his speech, he opened up new challenges in the future with an emphasis on ingenuity, which according to him is necessary for top achievements. 


Photos by Željko Stevanić and Domen Pal, IFP, d.o.o.