Publish Date: 16.11.2016

Category: News from the University

Today, the representatives of the Eksena Educational Center presented donated as a gift the specially printed issue of the Slovene translation of the Declaration of Principles on Tolerance to the Rector of the University of Ljubljana Prof. Dr. Ivan Svetlik as a part of a project promoting tolerance and the tour of tolerance. The Declaration was formally adopted by UNESCO at the 28th meeting of the General Conference in 1995, and last year it was translated on the initiative and as a part of the humanitarian non-profit all-Slovene project Mi smo ZA STRPNOST! (We are FOR TOLERANCE!). 

Representatives from the Eksena Educational Center are actively pursuing tolerance and mutual respect with an all-Slovene "Tour of Tolerance". As a gesture of goodwill and common formal symbolic support of tolerance, the Delegation of Tolerance is personally presenting the printed booklet as a gift to the highest representatives of the state, local communities, NGOs, media, the private sector, artists, athletes and representatives from other fields. As an acknowledgment of the importance of their efforts towards tolerance, the Slovene national UNESCO Committee supported their project as an honorary sponsor, while the President of the National Assembly Dr. Milan Brglez and the Association of Municipalities and Towns of Slovenia officially supported the project. 

The representatives of the Eksena Educational Center also met with the President of the Republic of Slovenia Mr. Borut Pahor, President of the National Assembly Dr. Milan Brglez, the Minister of Education Dr. Maja Makovec Brenčič and the Human Rights Ombudsman Mrs. Vlasta Nussdorfer. The booklet was sent to all Slovene kindergartens, primary schools, secondary schools, faculties, adult education centers, all members of the National Assembly, councilors of the Council of State and Slovene members of the European Parliament. 

The tour of tolerance is further carried out in Slovene municipalities. The Declaration was formally granted to the mayors of Ljubljana, Maribor, Celje, Kranj, Nova Gorica, Slovenj Gradec, Ptuj, Murska Sobota, Kamnik, Piran, Kočevje, Vojnik, Laško and Slovenske Konjice at personal meetings. 

This year, they have also decided to draft their first missive of tolerance, which shall be sent to the representatives of the local community and the media each year on the International Day of Tolerance. This year's missive is available here

Photos by Željko Stevanić, IFP, d.o.o.