Publish Date: 29.11.2011

Category: News from the University

A Ceremonial Senate Meeting was held today at the University of Ljubljana, where the Nobel Prize winning medical virologist Prof. Dr. Harald zur Hausen (a researcher of cancer treatment) was awarded an honorary doctorate. The title of “honorary senator” was given to Prof. Dr. Dušan Teodorovič and Prof. Dr. Dieter Schuöcker, while the “Pro universitate labacensi” plaque was given to professor doctor Jerry D. Sayet.

We also awarded Gold Plaques to individuals for their outstanding merit in the development of scientific, pedagogical, and artistic work. This year’s recipients of this honorary award are:

  • Professor Ruda Ravnik Kosi of the Academy of Music,
  • Professor Lojzka Žerdin of the Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television
  • Professor Božidar Žlender PhD, Biotechnical Faculty,
  • Professor Doctor Tanja Mihalič of the Faculty of Economics,
  • Professor Doctor Anton Bebler, Faculty of Social Sciences,
  • Professor Doctor Janko Drnovšek, Faculty of Electrical Engineering,
  • Professor Doctor Alojzij Franc Kodre, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics,
  • Professor Doctor Blaž Zupan, Faculty of Computer and Information Science
  • Professor Doctor Franc Kosel, Faculty of engineering, and
  • Professor Doctor Karl Kuzman, Faculty of Engineering.

For outstanding pedagogical and research achievements, “solemn certificates for young university teachers and associates” were also awarded. This year’s recipients were:

  • Assistant Professor Doctor Igor Prodan, Faculty of Economics,
  • Assistant Professor Doctor Anka Lisec, Faculty of Civil Engineering and Geodesy,
  • Assistant Professor Doctor Marko Žnidarič, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics,
  • Assistant Professor Doctor Polona Oblak, Faculty of Computer and Information Science, and
  • Assistant Professor Doctor Vasilka Sancin, Faculty of Law.

The ceremonial spokesperson was the President of the Slovene Academy of Sciences and Arts and academician Prof. Dr. Jože Trontelj.


Honorary doctor of University of Ljubljana
Prof. dr. Harald zur Hausen

Honorary senator of University of Ljubljana
Prof. dr. Dieter Schuöcker

Fotogalery (click on "Slavnostna seja Senata)

(fotographer: Željko Stevanić, IFP d.o.o )