The European Structural Funds

The financial resources of the European Structural Funds are intended to provide employment and competitiveness, reduce disparities in the region and strengthen cross-border cooperation. The cohesion policy of the EU is implemented through the Structural and Cohesion Funds.

The European Structural Funds include:

- European Social Fund (ESF)

- European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)

- European Agricultural Guidance and Guarantee Fund (EAGGF)

- Financial Instrument for Fisheries Guidance (FIFG)

 The UL has successfully participated in many projects co-financed by the European Structural Funds. In the programming period 2007-2013, the UL cooperated in 40 projects financed by ESF and 22 projects financed by the ERDF. The ERDF also co-financed the construction of new buildings of Faculty of Chemistry and Chemical Technology and Faculty of Computer and Information Science at Brdo Ljubljana.

In 2014 and 2015, UL ran a total of 13 projects of the European Social Fund and the 7 projects of the European Regional Development Fund.

In 2016 UL ran total of 23 project and in 2017 total of 43 projects of the European Social Fund and theEuropean Territorial Cooperation

8 Centers of Excellence (CoE) and 7 Competence Centers (CoC) were mainly funded from the European Regional Development Fund. The Centers of Excellence involve interdisciplinary research and development programmes, based on the strategic partnership between industry and academia, while the Competence Centers, as research and development centers, bring together partners from the industry and the public research sector. CoE and CoC activities have brought excellent results both in science as well as in the transfer of knowledge to the industry. In both types of centers, more than 700 researchers, more than one hundred companies and more than 40 research institutions were involved.


European Territorial Cooperation Programme 2014-2020

The objective of the European Territorial Cooperation programme is to strengthen cooperation on cross-border, transnational and regional level. The European Territorial Cooperation comprises of the following programmes:

- Cross-border Cooperation Programme. The Cross-border Cooperation Programme includes 

·        Interreg V-A Italija-Slovenija (IT-SI),

·        Interreg V-A Slovenija-Avstrija (SI-AT),

·        Interreg V-A Slovenija-Hrvaška (SI-HR),

·        Interreg V-A Slovenija-Madžarska (SI-HU).



- Transnational Cooperation Programme. Transnational Cooperation Programme includes programmes DANUBE, Alpine Space, Mediterranean Programme (MED) and Central Europe.


- Interregional Cooperation Programme. The Interregional Cooperation Programme includes programmes INTERREG Europe, URBACT III, ESPON 2020 and INTERACT III.


European Territorial Cooperation Programme and European Structural Funds 2011-2017

During the last programming period 2007 – 2013, the University of Ljubljana (UL) was successfully involved in the programmes of the European Structural Funds (ESF) and the European Territorial Cooperation. With the new programming period 2014-2020,  UL is actively involved with the project applications to the new calls, which allow a variety of opportunities to participate in project partnerships, which cover the geographic dimensions of a large area of Europe.


The table below shows the number of ongoing projects financed by both funding programmes from 2011 to 2017.

Year 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Number of projects 101 94 76 47 25 23 43