Requested page/section contains elements that requires user consent to store cookies (embedeed youtube, facebook videos, etc.).

The university was founded in 1919 on the basis of centuries of educational tradition, remaining the only Slovenian university for half a century. The University is based in Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia, a relatively large Central- European city with over 300.000 inhabitants. Students account for more than one-seventh of the population, giving the city a youthful and lively character.

The University of Ljubljana is the central and largest educational institution in Slovenia. We are also the largest in the area of study, with 64 percent of all the university students in Slovenia.

The University of Ljubljana ranks as a large university, with  38,000 graduate and postgraduate students.  Approximately 3500 higher education teachers are employed in the 23 faculties and 3 arts academies. The University member schools are responsible for carrying out undergraduate and postgraduate programmes as well as lifelong learning programmes. 

The University of Ljubljana’s doctoral studies are organized within its Doctoral School, established in 2007. It supports the interdisciplinary approach of doctoral studies, inter-faculty ties and collaboration with other research institutions and individual researchers in Slovenia and abroad. It is the largest research organization in the Republic of Slovenia. Its share of researchers at the Slovenian Research Agency accounts for over 32% of all registered researchers in the country.

The University of Ljubljana also carries out its developmental pedagogical and research activity within the framework of European programmes CIP, Intelligent Energy for Europe, ERASMUS+; TEMPUS, SAfer Internet Plus, COST, EUREKA, LIFE+, HEALTH, COST, Culture, 7th EU Framework Programme for research and development etc.

University is a member of numerous international networks like: UNICA, Utrecht Network, IRUN, EUA, EU2S2, CEI . It runs an ongoing student exchange with over 500 universities in Europe and in the region of Southern and Eastern Europe. The university also cooperates with more than a hundred universities across Europe and America, based on bilateral agreements and our membership in international networks.